Vizstudio.ca
français | contact
Photos: Simon Bouffard

Bios

Simon Bouffard, President, VizStudio

Simon Bouffard has specialized in the visual simulation of land-development projects for more than 15 years. During the course of his career, he has overseen visual-simulation initiatives for major projects in both urban and regional settings. He has worked for the park, garden and green space development unit of the City of Montreal, where he carried out a number of large-scale projects. He was subsequently employed by flight-simulation system manufacturer CAE, where he honed his skills in real-time visualization technologies.

Over the years, he has become one of only a handful of land-development professionals with both practical and theoretical skills in 2D and 3D virtual-reality modelling tools. Simon has also played a key role in numerous technical feasibility studies with respect to the real-time visualization of complex 3D scenes. This research, partially funded by the National Research Council of Canada, led to the development of an advanced visual-simulation system for land-development projects marketed under the name of Foresight (see www.insitusimulation.com).

Simon’s entrepreneurial spirit and extensive experience prompted him to help found two companies: MédiaLand (rehabilitation of industrial sites and visual simulation) and In Situ Simulation (development of 3D visual-simulation software for land-development uses). Under his guidance, both companies have seen their revenues grow steadily. He also co-ordinated a financing package for over $1 million to fund the R&D projects he supervised.

In June 2004, he established his own company, VizStudio, with a commitment to promote visual simulation as a strategic development tool for land-development projects.

Simon holds a bachelor’s degree in landscape architecture from the Université de Montréal (1990) and a postsecondary degree (DEC) in land development and urban planning from Collège de Matane (1985). He has also taken a number of specialized 2D and 3D animation courses at Montreal’s Institut de création artistique et de recherche en infographie (1997) and is about to complete a master’s-level program in geomatics at the Université du Québec à Montréal.

Article in « Convergence »

Article in « Routes & Transports »

Article in « Design 2004 »

Clipping from « ZoneX », 1999

Clipping from « Zone science », 2001

 
-
Contact us

Vizstudio.ca
english |communication
Photos: Simon Bouffard

Notes biographiques

Simon Bouffard, président, VizStudio

Simon Bouffard œuvre dans le domaine de la simulation visuelle de projets d’aménagement depuis plus de 15 ans. Au cours de sa carrière, il a notamment agi à titre de chargé de projet en simulation visuelle dans le cadre de la planification de grands projets d’aménagement, tant urbains que régionaux. Il a entre autres été à l’emploi du service de l’aménagement des parcs, des jardins et des espaces verts de la Ville de Montréal, où il a réalisé plusieurs projets d’envergure. Par la suite, chez le fabricant de simulateurs de vol CAE Électronique, il a été amené à parfaire sa connaissance des systèmes de visualisation en temps réel.

Au fil des ans, il est devenu l’un des rares professionnels de l’aménagement à posséder une connaissance à la fois pratique et théorique des outils de modélisation 2D et 3D utilisés en réalité virtuelle. Simon a aussi joué un rôle clé lors de nombreuses études de faisabilité technique sur la visualisation de scènes 3D complexes en temps réel. Ces recherches, réalisées en partie grâce au soutien financier du Conseil national de la recherche du Canada, ont mené au développement d’un système expert en simulation visuelle de projets d’aménagement commercialisé sous le nom de Foresight (voir www.insitusimulation.com).

Entrepreneur dans l’âme et fort de l’expérience acquise, Simon a participé à la création de deux entreprises : MédiaLand (réhabilitation de sites industriels et simulation visuelle) et In Situ Simulation (développement de logiciels de simulation visuelle 3D pour l’aménagement). Sous sa gouverne, chacune de ces deux entreprises a enregistré une croissance constante de ses revenus. Il a notamment su réaliser un montage financier de plus d’un million de dollars pour appuyer les projets de R et D qu’il dirigeait.

En juin 2004, il a fondé sa propre entreprise, VizStudio, en vue de promouvoir la simulation visuelle comme outil stratégique de développement des projets d’aménagement.

Simon détient un baccalauréat en architecture de paysage de l’Université de Montréal (1990) ainsi qu’un DEC en aménagement du territoire et urbanisme du Collège de Matane (1985). Il a également poursuivi une formation spécialisée en animation 2D et 3D à l’Institut I.C.A.R.I. de Montréal (1997). Il est sur le point de terminer un programme de deuxième cycle en géomatique à l’UQAM.

Article dans « Convergence »

Article dans « Routes & Transports »

Article dans « Design 2004 »

Extraits de « ZoneX », 1999

Extraits de « Zone science », 2001

 
-
Contactez-nous